Minister Announces Committee to Examine the Role of Acadian Affairs

first_imgAcadian Affairs Minister Michel Samson has created a committee to propose recommendations to enhance the role of Acadian Affairs within government. “Government wants to ensure that it is in the best position to help Acadian and francophone communities continue to build and thrive, in both rural and urban areas,” said Mr. Samson. “We are asking eight individuals, who are involved within their communities, to tell us how we can better serve the francophone citizens of Nova Scotia. They are the clients using the services and can best inform us on their needs.” The committee members are: Yvon Samson, chair, Petit-de-Grat, Richmond Co. Marie-Germaine Chartrand, Argyle, Yarmouth Co. Clermont Charland, Sydney, Cape Breton Regional Municipality Paul Gaudet, Clare, Digby Co. Rémi Deveau, Pomquet, Antigonish Co. Alfred Poirier, Chéticamp, Inverness County Daniel Cyr, Halifax Juliana Barnard, Truro The committee will examine the positioning of Acadian Affairs within government with respect to the implementation of the French-language Services Act, and with a focus on client service and community development. The committee is expected to deliver their recommendations to the Minister of Acadian Affairs by the end of March. Acadian Affairs is a division of the Department of Communities, Culture and Heritage. The French-language services Act was proclaimed in 2004, and modified in 2011. Nova Scotians can like Acadian Affairs on or follow the provincial government in French on Twitter @GouvNE.last_img read more